Skip to content

Doing OK

August 2, 2010

Last Saturday, I had to go back to the lab for a fasting glucose level.  At my routine appointment with Dr. OB this morning, I found out the results.  It was 90!!!!  Dr. OB was pleased…and I was too.  The appointment went well.  My belly is measuring on track and Baby B’s heart rate was in the 160’s.  My blood pressure was normal and I had minimal weight gain.  The only issue I had was now having to test my blood sugar twice a day.  Yep.  Even though I’ve followed my diet plan, Dr. OB wants me to check my fasting blood sugar every morning (should be under 90) and after one meal a day of my choosing.  So, two hours after the meal of my choice, I need to test (should be under 120).  I know two times a day isn’t as bad as four times a day but it still stinks!  I’ve also been trying to work in 15-20 minutes of walking after dinner which is supposed to keep the levels lower too.  I guess I’ll get to test that theory soon, as in tomorrow.  I return to Dr. OB in two weeks.  Then, I move on to weekly visits with NSTs.

In other news, I searched high and low for a dress to wear to my upcoming Baby Shower.  It was quite the struggle but I finally found one today.  I’m really looking forward to the celebration which will happen in two weeks.  And I hope we get lots of goodies too.  And in case you were wondering, I will be partaking in cake and other delights at the party…but only at the party.  Then, back to the diet I will go.

Other than that, nothing else much is going on.  I am working on getting my hospital bag packed and ready to go.  I am concentrating hard on this GD diet.  I am still not sleeping well and waking up every 2 hours to pee and change positions.  I am cherishing all of Baby B’s movements and motions because I know they will only happen on the outside in a few short weeks.  And I am enjoying lots of quality time with Mr. B because our time alone is coming to an end.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

