Skip to content

Bad Attitude!

July 20, 2010

Yeah, I have a really bad attitude today.  Read with caution…

Yesterday’s 3 hour glucose test was not fun.  I didn’t think it would be and it certainly lived up to my expectations.  The good news was that the lab ladies were nice and they had no trouble finding my veins.  I still look like a heroin addict after 4 blood draws in 3 hours.  Ahhhh, just like the good old days of IVF.

So, the nurse from Dr. OB’s office called me today with my news.  She told me I didn’t study hard enough for my test cause I failed all four draws.  She didn’t give me the numbers.  Then, she gave me the piss poor instructions of “Start a low sugar diet for the next week and a half.  Then, at my appointment, Dr. OB will get another level and let me know what to do from there.”  Are you fucking kidding me?  I assume that Gestational Diabetes is no joke and those are the instructions  get?  I know a little about good carbs and bad ones but I know it gets a little more complicated than that.  So, I guess it’s up to me and Dr. Google to figure out a meal plan until my appointment.  To say that I’m pissed off, angry and frustrated would be understatements.  Cause I haven’t been through enough with this pregnancy that I now get the joy of dealing with this shit too.  Great.  Thanks.  Fortunately, one of my friends who was recently pregnant with GD still has her handouts and information so I’ll get those from her tomorrow.  They should help me to figure this out.

I apologize about my tirade but it’s annoying.  And, yes, I know that it could be worse.  I’m fully aware that some are dealing with things alot worse than this.  But right now, this is how I feel…and it blows!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    July 20, 2010 7:17 pm

    I am sorry to hear about your news and that your nurse was not too helpful with how to move forward. I too would not be a happy camper – could you call for an earlier appt? If I did not pass mine, I was thinking about searching for a nutritionist to help — do you have one in your area that you could have a consultation with? Just a thought!! I hope that google & your friends information helps until you can see your dr. Hope you are feeling better tonight!

  2. July 21, 2010 1:54 am

    I am sorry you are dealing with all this and feel free to vent away! Your doctor’s office should have explained in more details what you are to eat and what you should avoid, it’s silly to say you failed the test but not give you any guidelines on how to improve your levels. If I were you I would demand more of an explanation, maybe ask to speak to your doctor? Hang in there sweetie, thinking of you.

  3. July 21, 2010 8:15 pm

    My BFF also failed her 3-hour screening. The nurses didn’t give her the numbers, but she also failed all four draws. They told her it was VERY close, borderline, and that instead of starting her on the daily finger-pricking, they were going to have her alter her diet first to see what happens. So for now, she’s doing the same thing you are. Watching her carbs and her sugar intake, etc. I’m guessing that you were “borderline” and didn’t fail by much, which is why they’re not being so strict with you. But I can totally understand your frustration!

Leave a Reply

