Skip to content

L&D, Take Two!

July 5, 2010

It seems as though I’m not the only one who’s irritable these days.  My uterus is too.  I’ve had Braxton Hicks contractions from time to time for several weeks now.  Last week, these contractions increased from a couple a day to a couple every hour, if not more.  They also increased in intensity giving me the severe urge to pee every time my stomach would tighten.  That was new too.  Last Thursday, I left work early because I was having two, three and sometimes four in an hour.  When I got home, I put my feet up and chugged water like nobody’s business.  Friday, I worked from home so I could be close to Dr. OB’s office in the event that I needed to make an unexpected visit.  For the entire morning, I was having 3-4 contractions each hour despite my water intake.  So, I decided to call Dr. OB’s nurse to ask for some parameters.  As in, how many of these bad boys is too many?  About an hour later, the nurse called back and I simply asked the question.  Her response was not what I expected.  She said since I had noticed an increase in contractions along with an increase in intensity, I should go directly to Labor and Delivery to be monitored.  Ummm, not really what I wanted to hear.  I was expecting something more along the lines of…more than 5 or 6 every hour is too many.  Guess not.

Like the obedient little patient, I drove over to the hospital and climbed into bed.  I explained the situation to the nurse and she strapped me up and turned the monitor on.  And true to form, the contractions had slowed.  I only had three in an hour and a half.  I felt like the biggest idiot but better to be safe than sorry, right?  Then, my favorite part of the visit…the cervical check.  I’m still a “dimple” which was comforting to know even though it was less than pleasant.  She called the OB on call to explain what was happening.  He apparently told her that I have an “irritable uterus” and that I should expect a few more of these visits before all is said and done.  I finally got some parameters, though.  He said if the contractions were every 10 minutes apart for a few hours, it was time to go back to L&D.  Totally reasonable.  And I felt much better with some guidelines.  The contractions persisted throughout the weekend but never with increased frequency.  For now, all is well.  Me and my uterus are two irritable peas in a pod.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 12:42 am

    Oh sweetie I am sorry you had to go back to L&D and had to have the cervical exam again, I am now starting to dread it.. it does not sound like much fun!!! At least now you have parameters for your own sanity and to alert you to go to L&D and when to just take it easy.

Leave a Reply

