Skip to content

It’s Official!

May 10, 2010

Mr. B and I had our anatomy ultrasound this morning and we found out we are having a GIRL!  It was such a HUGE relief to see all of her pieces and parts accounted for and developing appropriately.  Her little 4 chambered heart was beating away at 143.  The high risk OB said that everything looked great.  After hearing those words, I breathed a deep sigh of relief.  We “officially” let the cat out of the bag to all our family and friends. 

This morning was just “gender verification” for my parents and Mr. B’s mom.  You see, we kinda already knew it was a girl because we paid for a 3-D ultrasound last Thursday.  I know that seems kinda wacky , right?  Why not wait a few more days?  We decided that we wanted to suprise our mothers in person for Mother’s Day.  Throughout our entire pregnancy process, all of our news has been over the phone and we both wanted to surprise them in person.  And surprise we did!  I got a pink picture book with a saying about Granddaughters on the front of it and stuffed it with ultrasound photos.  When my mom unwrapped it, she was so excited!  My dad, on the other hand, looked like someone just shot his dog.  He was really hoping for a little boy to go fishing with.  He quickly recovered and said he was happy too.  I know he’ll be in love with her because I’m such a daddy’s girl.  Mr. B’s mother took a few minutes to understand what we were trying to tell her.  Once the lightbulb went off, she started to cry with excitement.  I’m so glad we were able to share our news with them in person because their faces were priceless.  All in all, it was a great Mother’s Day weekend.  Mr. B even got me the sweetest card and a fabulous Coach diaper bag.  But my best Mother’s Day present was feeling the little one moving around last night.  I can’t be 100% sure that it was her because I don’t really know how it’s supposed to feel.  It was almost like a little poke.  It had to be her.  I’m a very lucky girl!

In other news, the OB couldn’t find any evidence of lingering blood around my cervix.  I was hoping he wouldn’t, especially since my bleeding stopped at the end of March.  So…he gave us the go ahead to resume “normal activites”.  Mr. B was pretty happy about that because he’s ready for some action…tonight.  Needless to say, I’m still scared to do it but it’s been 5 months!  We are overdue for some good old fashioned lovin’.  And I just have to keep telling myself that pregnant women have sex all of the time without any issues.  Please let me be one of them. 

Let the shopping begin!  BRING ON THE PINK!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    May 10, 2010 8:04 pm

    Yeah! Girls are really fun. !

  2. May 11, 2010 12:09 am

    So exciting! Now you can really start decorating and clothes buying! Congratulations!

  3. May 11, 2010 10:16 am

    Congratulations on your baby GIRL!! Girls rock (we found out we are also having a girl!!) How cute of your and DH to do the 3-D u/s just in time for Mother’s Day, it sounds like your moms had the best of surprises!! I hope all went well with your “mission”! I learned that the more you do it the less freaked out you are about it.. I was so scared the first time we stared again at around 10 weeks and now I don’t think about it (well I still check afterwards for blood but I am not perfect!!) Congrats again and go shopping girl… I hear girls are so much fun to buy for!!!

Leave a Reply

