Skip to content

Anti-Climactic

April 29, 2010

That’s what my appointment with Dr. OB was this morning.  I waited 4 weeks to hear the heartbeat on the Doppler (at 148) and get my belly measured.  Oh, the nurse took my blood pressure too (98/68).  Dr. OB answered my basic questions, shook my hand and told me to “keep up the good work”.  Seriously?  That’s it?  That’s what routine pregnancy appointments are for?  I don’t really know what else they could have done to me (ultrasound???) but that’s all I got.  Now, I will wait patiently for 4 more weeks for more of the same.  I guess it’s better to have uneventful pregnancy appointments, right?

In regards to the sex update…still hasn’t happened.  No climaxing there either!  And Dr. OB requested that we wait until AFTER the Anatomy Ultrasound on May 10th before giving it a go again.  He said it was better to be safe since I had pretty heavy bleeding issues and “the twin thing”.  I was actually surprised by his answer.  I was fully expecting him to tell me to go for it and that I was being overly cautious for nought.  I broke the news to Mr. B and he seemed fine with it.  He certainly doesn’t want anything bad to happen to me or our bean.  And we’ve waited 4 months.  What’s 2 more weeks, right?  Apparently, my psyche is pretty anxious about our lack of sex too.  After watching Dr. Phil’s show on Tuesday about cheating spouses, I’ve had dreams each night since about Mr. B having several affairs plunging me into single parenthood.  Mr. B now plans to impose a ban on Dr. Phil for the immediate future.  It appears that we will (hopefully) have lots to celebrate on May 10th…the normal anatomy of our baby (please, God), the gender of our baby and the return of sex.

Now, I must do some laundry and pack for our beach trip.  We leave tomorrow morning and we are both looking forward to it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    May 1, 2010 7:10 am

    Warning TMI, just thought I would get that out of the way.

    I’ve commented a couple times on your blog about having bleeding during pregnancy too. We abstained for pretty much most of the first tri. We did have the go ahead later and all was fine. But after the the birth, (a vaginal) we were back to abstaining for the 6 weeks they recommend and then about 4 or 5 months more because it was incredibly painful. I exclusively breastfed my daughter and maybe that messed with my hormones, and I was 35, but for whatever reason it took a long time. I know my experience is not everyone’s, just thought I would share because I was unpleasantly surprised.

    AND YEAH that all is going well. I’m super happy for you.

Leave a Reply

