Skip to content

Beached Whale and Belly Shots

April 26, 2010

Here’s my belly at 16 weeks.  I really feel like it’s popping now.  I can’t imagine how it will look and feel in the upcoming weeks.

And now onto the traumatizing stuff…So, Mr. B decided a week ago that we should take a little get-away.  Now that I’m feeling more like a normal person and not seeing anything red, I told him, “Why not”.  The reservations are made and we are off to the beach this weekend.  We are leaving Friday morning and I can’t wait.  I haven’t been in the last few years and Mr. B and I have never been together.  The only bad thing about this glorious little get-away is the fact that I would need to squeeze my fat ass into a bathing suit.  Even when I was in good shape, I never enjoyed wearing a bathing suit or shopping for one for that matter.  Now, I would have to shop and dare I say, wear, a maternity bathing suit.  YIKES!  Last week, I ventured to Motherhood Maternity to find the article in question.  I tried on every one they had and was equally horrified with each fitting.  In most cases, the tops fit OK but the bottoms were really small.  After much suffering and disgust, I opted for the black and white tankini.  The bottom was way to skimpy so I found a maternity skirt bottom at Target.  I can only imagine what you are thinking from what I described.  It really doesn’t look like a 1950s throw-back, I swear.  But I must say, my body has seen better days.  I so wish I could be brazen enough to strut my stuff in a bikini but I just can’t do it.  My attitude is that I won’t likely ever see anyone at the beach again so who cares what I’m wearing, right?  And pictures WILL NOT be taken of the get-up because we won’t need to memorialize it.  On a lighter note, it’s gonna be lots of fun in the sun with shopping too!  Mr. B and I are anxious for a change of scenery.  I’ll be sure to update everyone when we get back.

In other news, I think I may have started the nesting process last weekend.  Mr. B and I refreshed the garden, cleaned the house from top to bottom, set up our new office and cleared the baby’s room.  We plan to paint the room after the anatomy ultrasound on May 10th.  Can you believe I’m speaking of such things???  I still feel like I’m jinxing the whole thing by even talking about it, but life must go on because the weeks are passing.  Next on tap for me is a routine visit with Dr. OB on Thursday, then the beach.  I hope things continue to go as well as they have been the last few weeks.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 11:01 pm

    Your bump is so cute and beautiful!!! Love the top too!!! I understand your drama about swimsuits.. I had the same issue two weeks ago. In the end I found a Tankini that now covers half of my belly.. the bottom part is tight even if I took a size up from my normal size! I wore it and even if I felt paranoid at first after going into the water I felt so great and LIGHT that all the bad thoughts went away! Have a Fantastic Break!!!

  2. April 27, 2010 10:58 am

    Ok, first of all AHHHH your belly is so cute!

    Second of all, OMG! I WISH I was as skinny as you! You’re totally one of those cute pregnant women, the ones who only gain weight in their belly! (To clarify, I’m not saying pregnant women aren’t cute. They are, I LOVE pregnant women). You’re going to be all belly! Beautiful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

