Skip to content

I’m Still Here

April 13, 2010

I didn’t want anyone getting nervous about where I’ve been given my history.  I’m still here and doing well.  I’m still free from bleeding/spotting.  It’s been since the end of March which feels like a miracle to me.  I am very thankful for it too.  I’m also on my second day without nausea and vomiting.  I’m glad that seems to be going away cause 7 weeks of that crap can get anybody down.  I’m still using my Doppler every day to hear the bean for a few quick minutes.  The heart rate has been in the 140s-150s.  Right now, I’m in a holding pattern.  My next OB appointment is on April 29th and our anatomy ultrasound is on May 10th.  Mr. B is absolutely DYING for that one.  He cannot wait to find out if it’s a boy or a girl.  While I am anxiously awaiting that information, I’m more interested that all the pieces and parts look normal and on schedule.  After that, it might be time to start shopping???  Still on the fence a bit about that. 

My next big hurdle is deciding when to have sex again.  I know, I know.  My husband has the patience of a Saint because we haven’t done the deed since mid January because of the IVF process.  Then, I was bleeding for weeks on top of the nausea and vomiting.  Now, it seems as though I have nothing standing in our way…except myself.  I’m so scared if we do it, the bleeding will start again and it will harm the baby.  In my rational mind, I tell myself that pregnant people have sex every day and they have real live babies at the end of nine months.  Mr. B isn’t pressuring me at all.  He understands my fears after everything I’ve gone through so far.  But I want to make him happy and feel close to him again.  I also want to keep the bean safe.  What do you think?  As of now, my plan is to ask Dr. OB about it at my next appointment and maybe beg for an ultrasound to see if that area of bleeding is still there.  We’ll see what the next few days bring.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 6:14 am

    I am so happy to hear that your bleeding has stopped and that your baby is doing great! (I so wish Dh would let me get a doppler.. he knows I will get obsessed.. and he is right!!) !The 10th of May is right around the corner so in no time you will be hitting the shops buying everything pink or blue!! About sex… we waited a long time before starting again but then around 10 weeks along I read the blog of a friend who is having twins and her doc told her it was now safe. So we mastered the courage and “did it”. I have to admit that we are both still careful and our sex life is not like it used to be but in a way the more we do it the more relaxed we become about it. After the first time I was running to the toilet every 5 minutes to check if I was spotting or bleeding. Of course nothing was there but I hear that that is pretty common. I say check with your OB and see what they say and whether you could expect some spotting etc. At least if you see some spotting you will not be alarmed. Good luck!!!

  2. April 25, 2010 3:01 pm

    i’m so happy to hear the bleeding has stopped! can’t wait to hear how this week’s appointment goes. i think it’s definitely almost time to start shopping! 🙂

    keep us posted on the sex thing. i hope you and your doctor have a nice chat about it and you can feel comfortable being intimate again. it’s a big fear of mine too (once i’m preggers again) and i don’t really want to deprive my husband (but i’m sure i will for a certain period of time). damn IF — instills so much fear. sucks.

Leave a Reply

