Skip to content

The Saga Continues…

March 26, 2010

For the last few days, I’ve noticed this “pressure” or tightening in my pelvis when I pee.  I’ve debated about calling Dr. RE about it because my new fear is incompetent cervix or any other issue that can creep up in pregnancy now that would cause the bean to disappear.  So, on my way to work this morning, I ended up calling Dr. RE’s office to ask the nurse about that “pressure”.  Now, I’ve never been pregnant so I was hoping that the pressure was from my uterus stretching, maybe???  I was just looking for a little reassurance but I ended up in the office for another freaking ultrasound!  I think I may have surpassed the world record for the most ultrasounds taken in pregnancy and I’m only 12 weeks along.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining because I got to see the bean but I’m also terrified that the bloody flood gates will open like they did on Monday.  Now, the results…The baby looked great. His/her arms and legs are long and he/she was dancing all around.  The heart rate was 160.  My cervix was even longer than it was on Monday so incompetency doesn’t seem to be causing the pressure.  They also had me give a urine sample to rule out a bladder infection.  The bad news is that my area of fluid collection has grown from Monday.  It’s up from 13mm X 15mm to 14mm X 22mm. It appears that bleeding will continue in my future if not throughout my pregnancy.  Am I lucky or what?  Good thing I don’t play the lottery.  The RE assured me that he wasn’t concerned in the least because the baby is growing ahead of schedule and the bleeding area isn’t near the placenta.  He doesn’t anticipate any problems with the baby resulting from the bleeding.  I really wish I believed him.  He’s been doing this for 20 years so I have to give him credit but I don’t ever think I’ll be relaxed when bleeding.  So, that’s my news.  Looks like another weekend on the sofa with my feet up.

P.S.  Thursday, I’ll go to Dr. OB for my first official appointment.  I’m interested to hear his take on this fluid collection and see how he manages it…and me.  Until then, I’ll be snuggled up with my Doppler.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2010 1:06 am

    Keep staying strong lady. I know it all just has to be so terrifying, especially after working so hard to get here, but it is going to be so worth it in the end!

  2. tknmommy permalink
    March 27, 2010 10:50 am

    Your doing great Mrs. B!! With my last 2 babies, I had fluid (aka blood) collection in my uterus with my babies… it started VERy early on and resloved with my daghter around 18 weeks and with my son around 20 weeks. With my daughter it bled (well gushed) out – with my son, it was job poof – gone… it was so strange and yet so relieving!! Oh, I had a doppler with my daughter too – I was a bit nerotic (which I and you totally deserve to be!!) Yay on 12 weeks – you are doing great!!

Leave a Reply

