Skip to content

Dancing Queen/Bean

March 5, 2010

Yesterday was my weekly visit to Dr. RE’s office for blood work and ultrasound.  I’ve grown very fond of Thursdays and will be very sad when they’re gone.  I have two more Thursdays to go before I get discharged to Dr. OB.  I wasn’t really sure how I was feeling when Mr. B and I got to the office.  The spotting last Friday really freaked me out.  But, I think it’s finally hitting me that I have no control over what happens in “there”.  I’m still not brave enough to go to these appointments alone for fear of bad news but Mr. B is more than happy to oblige.  It is so special that we get to share these first moments with our baby together.  I just hope he doesn’t get in trouble at work for taking little snippets of time off here and there. 

Anyway, we saw the bean dancing away with a strong heartbeat at 175!  We could see his/her little arms and legs moving all around.  I’m in love!  It was the most incredible thing I’ve ever seen and I can’t believe it’s inside my body.  Of course, being so in love scares me more because if something were to go wrong now, I don’t know how I’d recover.  But…I’m trying like hell to avoid those thoughts and believe this really might happen for us.  My Estrogen and Progesterone levels are still on target and my ovaries are still pretty big but Dr. RE is OK with all of it.  The second sac is still there but is measuring smaller than last week.  The reasoning for that is the baby could be smooshing it a bit or it’s starting to absorb.  The final outcome of “it” remains to be seen.

In other news, I got a consult from Dr. OB for my Nuchal Translucency Screen which will be done at 11 weeks.  I should graduate from Dr. RE that morning with another ultrasound that afternoon to check the bean out for chromosomal abnormalities.  I’m pretty nervous about this next step but I’m trying to take it one day at a time right now.  I also scored some Zofran because my constant nausea was getting pretty ridiculous.  Heaving and puking morning, noon and night.  And I must say, I HEART ZOFRAN!  It really helps to take the edge off and allows me to eat…and dare I say ENJOY food again.  I’m just hoping I don’t have to rely on it for too long.  We’ll see about that.

PS.  I have lots of ultrasound pictures and plan to post them as soon as I get a scanner.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

