Skip to content

You’ve Got To Be Kidding Me!

February 26, 2010

I feel like I’m being punished…punished for allowing myself to relax for a moment and embrace the fact that I’m gonna have a baby.  Today as uneventful until 3:00pm.  I was antsy at work and decided to hit the bathroom before leaving for the day.  I’m sure you all can imagine what I will say next…BLOOD!  Bright yellow pee in the toilet but red blood on the toilet paper.  And don’t you know that I won’t bleed during the week during office hours.  Oh no, not me.  My body has to wait til Friday afternoon so I can freak out all weekend wondering if this little baby is gonna still be there in the next few days. 

I called Dr. RE’s office and promptly received a return phone call from the nurse.  I explained my situation and she called the doctor on my behalf.  He told her to tell me to stay on bedrest all weekend.  He also reminded her to tell me he’s been expecting this.  And he’s right.  Dr. RE has told me for the last two weeks that I shouldn’t be surprised if I have some bleeding and/or cramping related to my non-viable “second sac”.  I was hoping for the body absorbing option but it looks like my request was over-ruled.  I know there’s no way to know if my empty sac or the actual baby is causing the bleeding and I won’t know until Thursday if all remains well with the baby.  Mr. B is pretty nervous right now too.  He did reassure me that everything Dr. RE told us has come true from the non-viability of our second sac to the bleeding it may cause. 

I swear, IVF is an absolute piece of cake on comparison to pregnancy.  I had no idea how hard this would be and it’s only been 8 weeks.  Please don’t misunderstand, I am THANKFUL beyond words that Mr. B and I have gotten this far.  But this time has been the most terrifying time of my life.  I want this little baby to stay put and be safe and I’m helpless.  An hour later, there were a few drops of brown blood in the toilet and brown blood on the toilet paper.  Looks like it’s gonna be a long, shitty weekend!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    February 26, 2010 6:06 pm

    I am so sorry to hear this. I hope that the bedrest will help. I know another person who had a similar experience with a nonviable second sac — she was hoping it would absorb and it did not. I know she too was scared and she was able to see at her u/s that Baby A was going strong!! I am sending lots of strength vibes to you and Baby A. Can you move your u/s up to earlier in the week so you do not have to wait until Thursday? I will be thinking of you!!!

  2. February 26, 2010 7:33 pm

    So sorry, I hope that you get some reassurance first thing Monday morning…try to relax as much as possible this weekend, I know that next to impossible, but stay strong!

  3. February 27, 2010 4:14 am

    I am so sorry, but I am hoping (and praying) that all is well with the baby to be – all will be well with the baby to be. Just try to relax (which I know will seem next to impossible). Big hugs coming your way!

Leave a Reply

