Skip to content

Houston, We Have a Heartbeat!

February 11, 2010

Today, Mr. B and I went to Dr. RE’s office for our 6 week ultrasound.  I’m exactly 6 weeks to the day and I was nervous as hell that it would be “too early” to see the heartbeat.  I swear I thought I was gonna crap my pants as they called my name in the waiting room.  I mean seriously…when does the terror end?  I got my blood drawn and it was off to the ultrasound room where I waited with Mr. B.  When it was finally time, I ripped my pants off and hopped on the table praying to see a flutter.  The dildocam was inserted and we were off on the hunt.  The empty sac from last week now had a fetal pole and a HEARTBEAT!  I had tears streaming down my face and squeezed the heck out of Mr. B’s hand.  We were watching our bean’s little heart flutter and it was amazing.   After looking around, the tech stumbled upon the next sac.  That’s right.  The “possible” sac from last week was definitely there today, yolk sac and all.  However, there was no heartbeat and it was measuring a few days behind the other one.  Everything else on the uterine front looked good.  After we were done, we sat down with Dr. RE.  He’s still very pleased with my progress and remarked that everything looked strong with the first pregnancy.  He said that the other one could have been less mature and implanted a little later or that it already stopped growing and would miscarry.  The thing is through this process, we always had one embryo that was ahead of the pack.  My guess is that’s the first pregnancy.  And since they weren’t even sure of a second sac last week which turned into a clear sac with a yolk sac, I’m inclined to think we might have a late bloomer on our hands.  We will know for sure next Thursday when we go back for our 7 week ultrasound.  Dr. RE plans to keep monitoring me on a weekly basis until week 10 which is totally fine by me.  Getting an ultrasound every week will hopefully help my anxiety to subside some…at least that’s what I was hoping for.  WRONG!

Here’s the deal.  I should be elated.  And I was for a few hours.  We have one growing baby with a heartbeat and another potential baby growing strong too.  Want to know the problem?  When they measured the first baby’s heartbeat, it was 92.  The ultrasound tech and Dr. RE both said that was a completely NORMAL number and that everything was on target.  Dr. Google wasn’t so convincing.  After googling all afternoon, some sites say the normal heartbeat range is 100-120.  Other sites say 90-110.  So, even if mine is “normal”, it’s at the lower end of normal.  Is that significant?  Does that mean that next week, the heartbeat may be gone?  Needless to say, Mr. B was a little unhappy with me and Dr. Google.  He begged for me just to be in the moment and be happy.  He reassured me that Dr. RE was very pleased with everything concerning the “first” pregnancy and was up front about the second one.  I guess we have trusted in him this far and have no choice but to continue to do so.  He also told me that my progesterone level is excellent.  He also said that I can stop my progesterone supplements all together.  That’s where he lost me.  That seems like a huge leap of faith and I’m not sure my nerves can take it.  For now, I think I will continue my oral progesterone every other night…at least until next week or the week after that.  Can anyone offer personal stories about the whole heartbeat situation or anything else for that matter?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 10:36 pm

    First of all, congrats!! I really wouldn’t read too much into Dr. Google and statistics on the internet. You can always find a statistic that will freak you out, and it’s way too easy to focus on those. And as for stopping the progesterone, I think you should trust your doctor. I was told to stop all of my hormone supplements the day of my second beta. It freaked me out a little too, but at this point your body is probably producing everything your little baby(ies) need. Try to take it one day at a time and enjoy this. You’re pregnant!!!!

  2. February 12, 2010 7:42 am

    Congrats on the heartbeat! I’ve cut way back on visiting Dr. Google as he usually disappoints, unfortunately. Don’t take it to heart. Remember each circumstance is unique. 🙂

  3. February 13, 2010 9:11 am

    CONGRATS!! I know how terrifying this time is. It always seems to me to be GREAT the day of the scans and then the doubt creeps back in. It is a natural feeling of worry that I have finally realized will NEVER leave even as our children grow and thrive! We went in for the first ultrasound and saw two fetal poles and two fluttery heartbeats that our doc did not even measure as he said it was too early to worry about that. Hmmm… And he saw a third sac with no fetal pole and no heartbeat. We were told we had twins. I spent the following weeks slowly beginning to deny that I was even pregnant. It didn’t seem real. I would have paid anything to buy an u/s machine and check it out myself!!! Ha. And 3 weeks later we went back to find three kicking, beautiful babies. You never know. And it is so hard to find the patience. Trust me I KNOW! I wish you guys all the luck with your new little family, and I hope you can find the relaxation and calmness in your heart to enjoy this time!! You are pregnant!!!!!!!!!!!!! CONGRATS!!

  4. February 13, 2010 9:11 am

    Congratulations!!! That is amazing news!!! I am so happy you saw the heartbeat of one baby!!!! Now about Googling.. I am the same! I get back from appointments and google, I get a twinge and I google!! My DH is the same as yours, he always tells me to chill out and take it one good news at the time and not to worry about possible things going wrong whilst we have just receive such good news!! Hang in there for another week until your next u/s and I am sure by then you will have the answers you are looking for! Thinking of you!!

Leave a Reply

