Skip to content

1st Ultrasound

February 4, 2010

Today, I had my 1st pregnancy ultrasound.  Gosh…typing that seems really wierd and reading it out loud is even more wierd.  Anyways, my uterine blood flow remains excellent and my lining is still plush and thick.  My 4th (and final) Beta is 2798.  From here on out, the only levels they will continue to check are my estrogen and progesterone.  My final PIO injection was Tuesday night.  YIPPEEEEEE!  I started the Prometrium tablets yesterday.  They had a very interesting effect on me.  I felt like I was buzzed and relaxed.  It was a great feeling…almost like the Valium made me feel on ET day.  I actually kinda liked it.  Maybe being in a Progesterone induced fog will help me to relax about being pregnant.  I say if it helps, BRING IT ON!  When the nurse called me with my levels today, she told me I only have to take one pill at bed time.  I’m hoping it will help me sleep better because I’ve acquired this pain in the ass habit of waking up every morning at 4am and it sucks!  We’ll have to see if that works out.

In reference to my ultrasound…we have ONE sac nestled perfectly in my cushy womb.  The ultrasound tech saw a shadow which, as she described, could be nothing OR it could be another sac.  Dr. RE reinforced what she said by saying that we shouldn’t be surprised if we have another sac by next week.  He is very pleased  with how I am progressing.  I go back for another ultrasound next Thursday (at 6 weeks) where Mr.B and I will hopefully see one, if not two, heartbeats.  If all continues to go well, I will remain under Dr. RE’s care until the 9th week.  Then, it’s graduation day.  I’m trying to enjoy each day of this experience even though I still stare in the toilet every time I use the bathroom on the lookout for blood.  I really wish I had a “fast forward” button to take me to 13 weeks.  But I would certainly put it in slow motion during the heartbeat ultrasound to capture that moment.  I swear it felt like it took forever for today to get here.  Now, I have to wait another whole week for the next milestone.  All of this waiting is torture.  Please Thursday…get here soon.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 9:29 pm

    Aww how cool and exciting. Hey check out this site for milestones…

    http://community.thebump.com/cs/ks/blogs/nb_checklists/pages/how-big-is-baby.aspx?r=0

    All you have to do now is sit back, relax and enjoy every moment of this.

    Have a healthy and happy pregnancy.
    GG

  2. happysiera permalink
    February 5, 2010 3:21 am

    congrats!!! woo-hoo! can’t wait to follow along your journey further + live vicariously through you!
    (in the meantime – here’s to a relaxing + winning sunday!)

  3. February 5, 2010 10:59 am

    Congratulations, fantastic news!!! So happy for you & can’t wait to hear whether it’s 1 or 2 babies for you:)

  4. February 7, 2010 11:59 am

    Congratulations!!! How amazing that you got an u/s so early on… and I am so happy to hear all looks great!! I cannot wait to hear if you are having one baby or two!!!! I am going for my first u/s on Thursday, I am just behind you as I will be 5weeks 5 days… I am thinking of you as you wait.. I have to say it’s not as bad as the 2ww!!! Cannot wait for your next update!!

  5. February 8, 2010 3:23 pm

    congrats on almost graduating! good luck thursday! can’t wait to hear if there are actually two or not!

  6. Laura permalink
    February 9, 2010 5:19 am

    Hey sweetie!! I have awarded you the Beautiful Blogger Award!! Go to my page for more info and how to pass this on to others!!

Leave a Reply

