Skip to content

Seeing Is Believing

January 27, 2010

Got to the fertility clinic this morning at 8am and got my blood drawn.  After that, it was off to work to spend the morning on eggshells.  At 10:30am, I finally got the call.  Drumroll please……………. my Beta is 171 at 8dp5dt!  OK.  Now it seems real.  The nurse was very happy with the number and she also reported that my estrogen and progesterone levels are great too.  Mr. B was soooo happy.  So was I for that matter.  I’m still scared as hell but getting that number allowed me to feel happy and somewhat relieved all at the same time.  I called my parents and they were ecstatic.  If you remember from an earlier post, these two have been chomping at the bit for a grandbaby and this is the closest they’ve gotten to date.  I reminded them that we still have many milestones to go before sharing with everyone else and they agreed to keep the good news on the DL until further notice.  Hmmm…we’ll see how that goes.  It was really hard to focus on anything other than the good news.  I can’t wait til Friday.  Please let the numbers double.  Please.  Please.  Please.

And a question for any of you reading this who got a BFP after IVF/FET.  Does the aching and lower back pain and extreme bloating go away?  If so, when?  My pants can’t be buttoned so I’ve been wearing dresses to work.  Please let me know what your experience has been.  Thanks!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 6:18 pm

    Holy Crow, 171 is a GREAT beta!!! Congratulations!!!!

  2. January 27, 2010 6:42 pm

    First of all…YAY!

    I didn’t have a lot of back pain…a little bloating…and hopefully your pants won’t fit right again for a year or so. 😉 But seriously…I was in maternity clothes by 10 weeks…and I’m just now getting back pain.

    Feel better soon…and YAY!!!

  3. January 27, 2010 7:14 pm

    Congratulations…so happy for you!!!

  4. January 27, 2010 7:17 pm

    Congrats!

  5. January 28, 2010 9:45 am

    Congratulations on a great beta!!

  6. January 28, 2010 12:13 pm

    wooo hooo! that’s a fantastic beta! congrats!

  7. January 28, 2010 12:46 pm

    I didn´t have back pain but menstrual pains (which some have in the back).
    And severe bloathing, I haven´t fitted into my pants since pre IVF. The bloating didn´t get better only worse. Well no I can sort of fake it as a baby bumb, but I know it is mostly water due to the hormones.

  8. TheMrs permalink
    January 28, 2010 2:01 pm

    Congratulations!!

  9. January 28, 2010 10:16 pm

    Congrats! Great News!

  10. January 29, 2010 12:28 am

    First of all, congrats on your BFP!! Woo hoo! I just realized that you are a poster on Baby Center and read about your BFP. I have been behind on reading the IVF posts on BC, so this is awesome news. I will be following your progress!

  11. January 29, 2010 7:31 am

    Congratulations!! My beta was 138 at 7dp5dt and I have five month old b/g twins as a result. Just sayin’…
    I had such horrible lower back pain as well and bloating so bad that I couldn’t do up my pants very early on. It’s all a result of the meds and the changes going on in your uterus.

  12. January 29, 2010 12:33 pm

    So VERY happy for you!

  13. January 29, 2010 12:55 pm

    Here from LFCA to wish you congratulations!! I’ll be hoping for great second beta news too.

Leave a Reply

