Skip to content

Embryo Watch 2010

January 16, 2010

I decided to sleep in today…just relax and hang out.  All was going according to plan and then the phone rang.  The caller ID showed it was the fertility clinic and I panicked.  Why were they calling?  I was told they weren’t going to call.  That could only mean one thing…bad news.  I took a deep breath and answered the phone.  It was my primary nurse.  She was happy to report that all 13 embryos were still with us, growing and dividing.  Of the 13, 9 were graded as “excellent”.  The others were dividing but at slower rate.  She encouraged me by saying they could still catch up.  I have never been so relieved in my life.  I know that there’s a high probability that all 13 won’t make it til Tuesday but I’m happy they are still hanging in there.  I feel like the proud mother hen, already so protective of my potential future offspring.  It was my first feeling as a “mother” of sorts.  I know that sounds wierd but that’s the way it felt and I sure hope it continues. 

In other news, the PIO injection went off without a hitch last night.  I layed on the bed and DH assumed the position.  My head and hands were clinched down in the comforter and I was prepared for the harpooning of a lifetime.  As I was waiting for the countdown, I started laughing…like full body, all over jiggly laughing.  Then, Mr. B said it was over.  I was still waiting for it to start.  I couldn’t believe it.  I demanded that he show me the syringe.  It was empty.  I even made him re-enact his steps.  I was in utter disbelief that his first shot went so smoothly and it didn’t hurt a bit.  Too bad he’s going out-of-town next week.  I hope my stand ins do just as good.  For the rest of the afternoon, I will relax and cheer on my hometown team in the playoffs…and keep those 13 little embryos in my thoughts and cheer them on too!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 7:59 pm

    Lucky 13!!! DH is a pro – it must have been that bullseye. Glad it went so easily for you. And I told you – nothing to worry about with the Saints. Congrats on the shelacking!!

  2. January 16, 2010 8:44 pm

    Sounds like good news on top of great news! All thirteen still dividing AND your PIO was bearable. I am so happy for you…

  3. January 16, 2010 11:05 pm

    Grow embies, GROW!!!

  4. January 17, 2010 11:06 pm

    omg, you have the best news to share! not only do you have 13 embryos growing, but the PIO shot is no big deal! yaaaay!

  5. January 18, 2010 9:42 am

    Woo Hoo…. 13!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

