Skip to content

Trigger Happy

January 12, 2010

I went back to Dr. RE’s office this morning for more labs and an ultrasound.  All went well.  My lining is up to 9.5 which is such a relief.  It’s over the required mark of 8 so we’re all set in that department.  In other news, I have 3 follicles that finally reached the 18mm mark.  The others are still lagging behind a smidge so I’m hoping they’ll catch up in time.  By the time I left the clinic, I was convinced that Friday was still going to be the day for Egg Retrieval.  All that changed when the nurse called me late this afternoon.  TRIGGER, she said!  Holy crap!  I thought I was gonna die.  I spent the rest of the afternoon like a crazy person on speed.  I was so excited.  All I could think of is that this process hasn’t been so bad at all.  I mean, the shots leave a lot to be desired but were over in a minute.  Bloating and gas were my only real symptoms but I’ve been known to earn those after gobbling up a great meal.  I fully expected that I would become an emotionally unstable, crabby-ass bitch but that didn’t happen.  Mr. B even told me that he’s been surprised at how calm and positive I’ve been.  He seems to think that being amped up on hormones agrees with me.  What gives?  Where’s the catch?  Will PIO be my nemesis?  Will that make me fall into the emotional abyss?  To be continued…

The next real step is upon us.  ER is now on Thursday!  At the moment, I’m praying that my eggs don’t pop out early.  Is that irrational?  I also fear that Mr. B will spill his cup o’ sperm on the floor before it makes it to my eggs.  Is that irrational?  I’m sure they both are but that’s where I’m at right now.  I’m excited, optimistic, scared and anxious.  If I remember correctly, I think that’s how I started this whole process.  Just two more sleeps until the first big day.  YAY!  Bring it on!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 11:16 pm

    Oh wow! That was fast! Can’t WAIT to hear about Thursday!
    Keep us updated…

  2. January 13, 2010 1:33 am

    YAY! SO SO SO EXCITING! I actually did really well on the hormones both times I donated too. I really think it is just different for everyone, but it’s nice to know I do OK on them so now I’m not too worried about my own IVF. And no, your fears are not irrational. BOTH times I donated I worried about the doctors miscalculating and me somehow dropping them all too early. I was SO worried for those women I donated to (so afraid that I wouldn’t be able to give them what they needed) and they weren’t even for me! It makes perfect sense you would be a little concerned, but all will be good! Those Doctors know what they are doing!!

  3. January 13, 2010 4:15 am

    I had all of those same fears….none of them happened. So excited for you! Cheers for a non-pre-ovulating and non-spilling-sperm-in-bathroom perfect ER!

  4. January 13, 2010 12:21 pm

    SO exciting! You had me laughing about Mr. B spilling his cup-o-sperm.

  5. January 13, 2010 7:32 pm

    Good luck tomorrow!

  6. happysiera permalink
    January 14, 2010 12:34 am

    good luck! this is sooo exciting! can’t wait to read updates : )

Leave a Reply

