Skip to content

19 Beauties

January 9, 2010

Ladies, my ovaries have stepped up to the challenge!  I have 19 beautiful follicles that are growing and growing.  I went back to the clinic this morning for another ultrasound and more lab work.  Waking up at 6am on a Saturday to get to the clinic for 8am left a lot to be desired, especially when it’s 28 degrees outside.  And I was none to happy to see the amazon ultrasound tech that tortured me last Monday there too.  Things weren’t looking good.  Fortunately for me, she was a kinder and gentler to my vagina today.  Away we went.  She was calling out measurements, all bigger than Thursday.  She also called out lots more numbers.  I was intrigued.  I went back out to the lobby to wait for the nurse to call me back.  When it was finally my turn with the nurse, I was ecstatic.  I had more follicles…from 10 to 19 with my right ovary as the star of the show.  6 turned in to 13 on the right and 4 turned into 6 on the left.   My lining also increased from 3.2 to 5.4.  The goal is to get to 8 by Friday and I’m confident it will happen.  All in all, it was a great way to start the day.  I will decrease my follistim from 150 iu to 75 iu.  Other than that, no other changes and I’m back to the clinic on Monday.  We’re getting really excited now.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 2:07 pm

    Hip hip hooray! Aside from the terribly early wake up time, it sounds like a great start to Saturday!

  2. January 9, 2010 2:59 pm

    Yay! Yay! Sounds great!

  3. January 9, 2010 3:46 pm

    I donated my own eggs twice (long before I knew or understood that I would ever have fertility issues of my own… where’s the karma?) so I remember the excitement of watching your little follicles grow and expand (or rather, hearing about it, since at the time I obviously had no idea what I was looking at it!) I used to get so tickled, and would walk away thinking “I am going to be giving that mama the very best!” I can only imagine how much more exciting it is to watch as those follicles are producing eggs for YOU to use (although, hopefully I will understand this feeling very soon when I got through my own first round of IVF). So here’s a big “YAY” for you and your 19 beauties!

  4. January 9, 2010 5:21 pm

    Awesome! Glad things are going well!

  5. January 10, 2010 12:27 am

    How Crow!!! Great news!

  6. Sarahlouise1980 permalink
    January 10, 2010 9:38 am

    Wow, this is getting really exciting now. When do you do the ER?

  7. January 10, 2010 10:29 am

    Congratulations…so happy to hear things are progressing well & that your vagina was treated better, always a good thing:)

  8. January 10, 2010 5:15 pm

    Yea! Go Ovaries!!

  9. January 10, 2010 9:43 pm

    Congrats on the high number–hope they’re all great looking at retrieval.

Leave a Reply

