Skip to content

Clean As A Whistle

January 7, 2010

Those are the words Dr. RE used to describe my lovely uterus.  I went in to the clinic this morning for my routine ultrasound and blood work.  Yesterday, a friend going through fertility treatments due to MFI wrote that she needed a third arm for all of her lab work.  I placed my order for a second vagina for all the ultrasounds but I haven’t received it yet.  She called it my “stunt” vagina.  Looks like I’ll be doing my own stunts with this production.  However, I’m happy to report that, with a different ultrasound tech, my date with the dildocam went much better.  She was very gentle and I love her!  Anyway, she did a 3D ultrasound of my uterus to get the lay of the land in preparation for my Embryo Transfer happening in two weeks.  No polyps or fibroids or endometriosis was found.  My uterus is ready for some embies.  All good news.  She then took a look at my follicles.  I still have the same number as last time and they are all growing in the same range.  My right ovary has 6 follicles (in millimeters: 9,8,8,7,7,5) and my left ovary has 4 follicles (in millimeters: 6,6,6,6).  Dr. RE is happy with my progress and said I am having an “average” response to the stims.  This should make me happy, right?  Well, it does to some extent.  Average is certainly lots better than below average or non-responsive.  I was just hoping that my ovaries would excel during this assignment.  It looks like they had other plans and are happy being average.  I’m taking the stance that average is good and it’s quality, not quantity, that will win in the end.  My hormone levels are all good too.  I go back on Saturday for more of the same.  Until then…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2010 1:33 pm

    Yay yay yay! So happy things are going according to schedule. We all know how tough it can be when our bodies don’t cooperate with what our minds want!

    Oh and let me know when your spare parts come in – still waiting for mine. They must be coming by snail mail.

  2. January 8, 2010 12:13 am

    One of the doctors in my IVF cycle told me I was average. I think she noticed I was a bit annoyed by the comment. She smoothed it over by saying being average is medicine is a good thing. It looks like things are going well.

  3. January 8, 2010 6:44 am

    Yep, I’d take “average” any day. It really sounds like your are on just the right track. I’m keeping up with you!

  4. January 8, 2010 3:47 pm

    Hey there. Thanks for delurking! It’s given me the chance to follow another MFI blog.

    I know we IFer’s prefer to be overachievers, but your repsonse seems very reasonable. And I hope it pays off for you soon.

    Best of luck with the rest of your cycle. I look forward to following your journey.

Leave a Reply

