Skip to content

Who Said Life Was Fair?

December 9, 2009

Since this rollercoaster called “Infertility” started several weeks ago, Mr.  B and I have gone through various stages of emotion.  At first, we were in denial.  Then, we were sad with good ole ANGRY not too far behind.  As a former NICU/Well Baby Nurse, I became consumed with memories of former patients and their families.  I must admit that I cared for my fair share of drug addicted babies born to cracked out, drug addicted, crazy ass women on government assistance who were self righteous and obnoxious.  Remembering these people got me wondering…why was getting knocked up and birthin’ babies so easy for them when it was so hard for us?  We have everything going for us.  Mr. B and I are MARRIED, employed, home-owning, healthy, responsible individuals who decided to start a family in a loving, stable, financially secure environment.  It begs the question…Why do ex-convicts have the sperm of superheros?  Why do unemployed, drug addicted nineteen year old women have the fertility of the gods?  Mr. B and I often joked about quitting our jobs, taking up meth and getting a felony or two under our belts to help with our family planning.  If it worked for them, it could work for us, right?  Not so fast said Dr. Urologist.  All kidding aside, we’ve come to terms with our situation and we’ve made peace with our decision to start our family with medical assistance.  And thankfully, we are fortunate enough to have the funds to finance this operation (and we didn’t even have to rob a bank).

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sarahlouise1980 permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:53 pm

    I had this moment about a month ago, after a friend of ours got his girlfriend pregnant and they decided to have an abortion.

    I realize that there decision was obviously not a personal attack on me but honestly that is how it felt.

    Then I had the full on, why me moment. It lasted for almost a week.

    I’m not saying I wont ever have it again, or that if I start to think about it that I no longer get infuriated but it is better now. I think it’s better now. No it’s definitly better now.

Leave a Reply

