Skip to content

The Verdict

December 7, 2009

IVF with ICSI it is!  We met with the Dr. RE this morning to decide on which path to take.  He was very informative and patiently answered my barrage of questions… and boy, did I have them.  We discussed IUI with Mr. B’s swimmers and Dr. RE gave us about a 6% chance per cycle to achieve pregnancy.  IVF with ICSI gives us a 50-60% chance.  To us, the writing was on the wall.  If I was a wee bit younger, say, in my late 20’s or 30, we probably would have chosen differently.  But my eggs aren’t getting any younger so we decided to go for the gusto.  We spoke with the IVF nurse and the Financial Planner at the clinic.  All of the paperwork is in order and I need to call the Nurse on Wednesday once AF shows up.  I’ll start birth control pills on Sunday.  Then, the real fun begins with Lupron injections during the week of December 27th.  Looks like I’ll be ringing in the New Year while shooting up.  Good times!  A few days later, Follistim and Menopur will be added.  Frequent blood work and ultrasounds will be needed to determine when my eggs are ready for snatching, somewhere around January 15th, all things considered.  Three to five days later, I will get the closest I’ve ever been to pregnant.  Afterwards, the Beta countdown begins.   

How am I feeling about all of this?  Nervous, scared, relieved excited, anxious, terrified, happy…my emotion changes by the minute.  Mr. B and I are so happy to finally have a plan with dates and schedules and to-do lists.  At the same time, it’s such an investment of time, MONEY and emotions.  The “What if’s” come back in full effect.  What if it doesn’t work?  Holy shit!  What if it does???  We could be parents by October?  That idea seems so far removed from anything I can imagine right now.  But, I’ve decided that Negative Nancy has to hit the pavement.  There’s no room for her here…not anymore.  If this is gonna work, I have to be as positive as I can be and believe each day that we will be parents.  I’m gonna take a cue from Oprah and all of her spiritually enlightened friends.  I’m gonna visualize my child, I’m gonna find my happy place and think happy thoughts.  And if all else fails, I’m gonna fake it til I make it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 7:40 am

    Liked your positive attitude. Always be optimistic and half of your problems will get solved automatically. May the new year bring lots of joy in your life. ALL THE BEST.

Leave a Reply

