Skip to content

Conspiracy Theory

November 16, 2009

This blog was supposed to be a “Trying to Conceive” blog.  At least that’s what I thought when I signed up a few months ago while I was sitting alone in a hotel room in Atlanta.  Why was I in Atlanta, you may ask?  I would love to tell you… Mr. B started a new job that  required a certain amount of travel.  And if any of you know from personal experience, work travel and making babies don’t mix.  His first month on the job had him off to Nashville for a week.  Ordinarily, this wouldn’t be a big deal except for the fact that I was ovulating!  What did that mean?  I was taking an impromptu vacay to Music City.  We just knew if I went along for the trip we would get pregnant and have the best story to tell.  Fourteen days later and five vacation days fewer, I wasn’t pregnant.  When Mr. B came home  the following week and announced more news of travel I was quite peeved to put it mildly.  Only this time, he would be gone for 5 weeks.  We decided to take a break from babymaking that month and pick up where we left off upon his return.  Did you think I could really let that happen?  Doubtful!  You know how it is when you feel the anxiety of the monthly egg release.  Taking your temperature every morning…plotting it on your chart…getting up close and personal with your cervical mucous…breaking out the OPKs.  I couldn’t stand the thought of wasting a whole month and a perfectly good egg.  Mr. B couldn’t either.  Needless to say, I was flying the friendly skies to Atlanta for my week long babymaking sex fest!  Fourteen days later, five vacation days fewer and $300 lighter, I wasn’t pregnant.  Are you seeing a pattern here, folks?  That brings us to last weekend.  Mr. B and I were at dinner Saturday night and we were discussing when we might like to start our first IVF cycle.  Dr. RE said we could consider starting as early as December except for the fact that Christmas would interfere with egg harvesting.  Thanks Baby Jesus!  January it would be.  But not so fast.  Mr. B reminded me that he will be out of town for business from mid January through mid February.  WTF!  Was this some type of divine intervention telling us that we shouldn’t become parents?  Was this a joke cause I’m failing to see the humor in this one.  Remember how I once said that patience is a virtue that I do not possess?  Well it looks like I’m gonna have to get acquainted with this thing called patience cause I’m gonna need alot of it to get through the next few months.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarahlouise1980 permalink
    November 17, 2009 5:52 pm

    I know exactly how you feel. I hate the waiting game. I am so tired of it. We can’t even start thinking about “trying” until Febuary. That is if DH’s SA gives us any indication that it can happen. Then we find out whether or not we will be able to try IUI’s. I have read a lot about them though and they don’t look very promising at all though. Do you know that they only have a 6-15% success rate? I mean that’s like nothing at all almost. I have a niggling suspicion that we will have to do IVF with ICSI too, we just have to get any sperm first.

    I am trying to keep up with your journey through your blog but I don’t know how to sign up for it so I can only check it out once you have posted on bbc. Let me know if there is anyway to do that.

    • November 17, 2009 7:23 pm

      I know you understand Sarah. I’ve read the same thing about IUI’s. Even if we were given that option, I’m not so sure we would pursue it. As for how to follow my blog, I would imagine if you clicked on the link https://latebloomer13.wordpress.com it should get you right here. I’m still trying to figure out how it works. Hang in there. Maybe we can be IVF cycle buddies.

      • Sarahlouise1980 permalink
        November 18, 2009 10:57 pm

        Hey there, I just went ahead and added this to my favs on my computer so that I can come and check it. I guess we can just post back and forth on our blogs to keep in touch. I will try and find you on facebook too.

Leave a Reply

